2018 Election

2018 is an election year for municipal and provincial government in Ontario. Ottawa Valley Business will be carrying updates of those running for office. In addition, every issue of OVB will have election information included for individuals who are considering running for local municipal office.

Current Municipal Elected Officials

Renfrew County
Lanark County

Current Provincial Elected Officials

Renfrew County: John Yakabuski (Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke)
Lanark County: Randy Hillier (Lanark-Frontenac-Lennox & Addington)
Bancroft: Todd Smith (Prince Edward-Hastings)

Interested In Running?

There have been some changes to the election rules for municipal government. Here are links to relevant documents through the Ontario Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing. Also, please check with the municipality within which you would like to seek a seat on council for current information as well.

Municipal Election Forms

You can get copies of forms from your municipal clerk, or you can download them from the Government of Ontario’s Central Form Repository at www.forms.ssb.gov.on.ca.

Direct link to all forms

  • Nomination Form (Form 1)
  • Appointment of Voting Proxy (Form 3)
  • Financial Statement and Auditor’s Report (Form 4)
  • Financial Statement – Subsequent Expenses (Form 5)
  • Notice of Extension of Campaign Period (Form 6)
  • Declaration of Identity (Form 9)